Vote Canvass Makes Election Results Official

The votes cast in the November General Election are now official. Paulette Guajardo, Joe McComb, Ben Molina and Greg Smith will take their seats at the Council dias, December 13. A quorum of four council members including outgoing Mayor Nelda Martinez and At-Large councilman Mark Scott, along with District 1 councilwoman Carolyn Vaughn and District 5 councilman Rudy Garza, voted recently to accept the November 8 returns.
Before the next council meeting on December 13, there will be a swearing-in ceremony to formally introduce the new Council members at 10:00 a.m., followed by a small reception. The Council meeting will begin at 11:30 a.m. with public comment taking place at noon.