TML Region 11 Mayors Elect Mayor Paulette M. Guajardo to Represent the Coastal Bend Region as its President

CORPUS CHRISTI, TX – At the July 22, 2021, Texas Municipal League (TML) Region 11 Quarterly Meeting, Corpus Christi Mayor Paulette M. Guajardo was elected by her peers to serve the region as its next president. TML Region 11, Coastal Bend Region- Corpus Christi Area, comprises fifteen counties from Kleberg County north to Lavaca County.

While TML is a statewide organization, 15 sub-state regions exist to “promote interest in municipal government on a regional level; facilitate the exchange of information among cities in the region; and assist the TML Board of Directors in formulating policy that represents the diverse interests of the state.”

Mayor Guajardo’s term as president will last one to two years, and her primary responsibilities will be to coordinate regional cooperation among cities. “I am honored to serve our Coastal Bend Region as president of Region 11. This role will only bolster the voice and advocacy for our Corpus Christi area cities. I look forward to working with and partnering with all of the region’s Mayor’s,” said Mayor Paulette M. Guajardo.   

Rockport Mayor, J.D. Villa, is now the immediate past president, and Portland Mayor Cathy Skurow serves as first vice president.

Media representatives can contact Chief of Staff Arlene Medrano at 361-826-3100 or